Qualification Frameworks

The Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF) covers England, Northern Ireland and Wales. Scotland has a separate framework called the Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework.

QCF and SCQF qualifications are based on National Occupational Standards (NOS). Learners can demonstrate their competence on a unit by unit basis or by working towards a full qualification. Each unit has a credit value and a level of learning.

Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF)

Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework (SCQF)

How are qualifications assessed?

Assessment will take place in the workplace and will need to reflect the learner’s job role. Awarding Organisations are responsible for carrying out the assessment and must follow the ConstructionSkills Assessment strategy principles. Read more.

Rules of combination

Each qualification comes with its own Rule of Combination (RoC) which sets out what the learner needs to undertake to achieve their qualification. RoCs indicate the credits that need to be achieved through the completion of particular units, and establish connections between other qualifications. The credits that have been assigned to each unit within the RoCs have been provided by occupational experts.

You can view the rules of combination for each of the QCF NVQ Diplomas.

Search for QCF


QCF Title

Search results - Showing 100 of a possible

Rules of Combination

ID Name Type